Subbies Grand Finals

Through its strategic vision of ‘Sharing the Spirit of the Game’ The Rugby Club Foundation is encouraging the sport of Rugby by supporting the NSW Suburban Rugby Union in their efforts to increase player participation, expand coach and match official education and enhance the experience of all participants within the game of Rugby.

Subbies is one of the largest grass roots Rugby competitions in the world and this season over 1100 games were played, culminating in 83 finals matches and 23 premierships. Kentwell Cup Day on 25 August 2018 produced some memorable Rugby for The Rugby Club Foundation Members who presented their membership card for complimentary entry to the event. 

Subbies is grateful to all their sponsors and are particularly proud to be supported by the great Rugby institution that is The Rugby Club Foundation. This appreciation was evidenced by Foundation Vice President Peter Whittington being afforded the honour of presenting the Kentwell Cup to the victorious Petersham side at T.G. Millner Field.

On the same day, Angus Bruxner, President of The Rugby Club Foundation, had the honour of presenting the McLean Cup [Division 4 1st Grade] to Sydney Harlequins at Canterbury’s Wills Ground. This premiership is of some significance to the Foundation because, in 2004, Sydney Harlequins RFC was established from within The Rugby Club by Ross Hazlett and Angus Bruxner and has thereafter regarded The Rugby Club as their spiritual home.

As a proud sponsor of Subbies Rugby, The Rugby Club Foundation is delighted to join with Subbies in congratulating all 2018 Premiership and Club Championship winners on their achievements this season.

2018 Honour Roll

Inter-Divisional Club Champions - Cowboy Cup - Mosman

Div One

Club Champions - Bruce Graham Shield - Mosman

1st Grade - Kentwell Cup – Petersham*

2nd Grade - Burke Cup - Mosman

Colts - Barbour Cup - Mosman 

3rd Grade - Whiddon Cup – Knox*

4th Grade - Judd Cup - Colleagues

5th Grade - Sutherland Cup - Mosman

Div Three 

Club Champions - Doc Harris Shield - Barker Old Boys

1st Grade - Clark Cup - HAC

2nd Grade - Farrant Cup - HAC * (undefeated)

Colts - Nicholson Cup - Barker Old Boys

3rd Grade - Campbell Cup - Barker Old Boys * (undefeated)

Div Five

Club Champions - David Swan Shield - Merrylands

1st Grade - Jeffrey Cup - Menai *

2nd Grade - Noice Cup - Merrylands *

Div Two    

Club Champions - Reliance Shield - Blue Mountains

1st Grade - Barraclough Cup - Blue Mountains

2nd Grade - Stockdale Cup- Forest

Colts - Robertson Cup - St Patrick's

3rd Grade - Blunt Cup - Blue Mountains *

4th Grade - Richardson Cup - St Patrick's *

Div Four

Club Champions - Herlihy Shield - Sydney Irish

1st Grade - McLean Cup – Sydney Harlequins

2nd Grade - Grose Cup - Canterbury

3rd Grade - Walker Cup - Canterbury

Div Six

1st Grade - Meldrum Cup - North Cronulla *

Inter – Divisional

Colts - Radford Cup - Eastern Suburbs

Halligan Cup – Colleagues

*Denotes Minor Premiers

Rugby News, EventsLisa Kane